Governments Sign a Memorandum of Understanding Reaffirming their Commitment to the Common Travel Area

The UK and Irish governments signed a Memorandum of Understanding reaffirming their commitment to the Common Travel Area.


Memorandum of Understanding between the Government of the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland and the Government of Ireland


Joint statement of 8 May 2019 between the UK Government and Government of Ireland on the Common Travel Area



The Common Travel Area (CTA) is a long-standing arrangement between the UK, the Crown Dependencies (Bailiwick of Jersey, Bailiwick of Guernsey, Isle of Man) and Ireland.

The CTA established cooperation between respective immigration authorities enabling British and Irish citizens to move freely between, and reside in, these islands.

British and Irish citizens enjoy additional rights in Ireland and the UK. These include the right to work, study and vote in certain elections, as well as to access social welfare benefits and health services.

If you are a British citizen or an Irish citizen, you do not need to take any action to protect your status and rights associated with the CTA. After the UK leaves the EU, you will continue to enjoy these rights, no matter what the terms of the UK’s exit. Both the UK and Irish governments have committed to taking all necessary measures to ensure that the agreed CTA rights and privileges are protected in all outcomes.

Published: 8 May 2019

Pin It on Pinterest

Skip to content